技术路线图

FEV 技术

路线图

致力于从初期就以结构化的方式优化公司内部的创新过程,FEV技术路线图将建立一条路线,回答三个重要问题:市场和技术驱动力是什么?有哪些技术解决方案?什么时候达到关键的市场渗透率?这种方法使我们能够避免 "模糊的前端"--即每一个创新研发过程开始时往往难以划定边界的初始阶段。路线规划过程可以根据客户的要求进行灵活调整。然而,它仍然包括核心内容,从趋势和驱动力分析到未来发动机、变速器和动力系统的合理技术方案,以及所有与交通相关的应用。FEV咨询向客户展示哪些产品和企业战略与之相关,并帮助客户实施。

FEV 技术路线图是什么?

FEV技术路线图中使用的方法可以帮助我们厘清原本模糊的初始阶段,也就是创新过程中的早期技术探索阶段。在这个阶段,我们会遇到很多技术,这些技术要么是嵌套在研究的早期阶段,要么是开始了设计的初步步骤,要么是已经进入高级原型设计阶段。发现并描述这些趋势,并对其进行评估,是早期技术探索的关键要素。虽然这对OEM和供应商来说是个挑战,但对双方的战略决策来说都非常重要。

FEV的技术路线图流程是记录技术的有效解决方案,无论是处于开发早期阶段还是已经建立的技术。FEV的咨询师通常会尝试回答三个关键问题:

  • 目前和未来有哪些趋势和驱动因素将影响相关产品的研发?
  • 目前已知的相关技术或概念有哪些,有哪些影响?
  • 这些技术何时才能达到技术成熟和一定的市场渗透?

在呈现趋势和驱动因素时,我们会分析全球大趋势以及随之而来的具体驱动因素。我们的专家们利用他们的全球网络,参加相关的讲座和贸易展览会,对行业内的主要参与者、供应商和终端客户进行采访,或者分析未来20年内可能成为重要的法规。

在进行项目合作时,我们会关注客户的具体限制和要求。在考虑客户的个人产品环境、客户的核心竞争力,以及必要时特别要求的技术课题的同时,我们的服务团队会确定客户特别感兴趣的技术--无论是已经在产品系列开发中的技术,还是刚刚处于研究的早期阶段--一般来说,我们会通过与选定的FEV专家进行访谈、分析讲座和文献,以及参加会议和贸易展览会来确定这些技术。然后,我们为客户起草一份标准化的技术报告。报告中介绍了工作原理,说明了与其他技术的优缺点和相互作用,并评估了其在乘用车、商用车、工业、船舶、铁路等各种应用领域的应用潜力。作为我们最独特的卖点,FEV咨询公司为客户提供 "深度技术解析",由FEV的专家对选定的主题进行深入的技术细节和大量的模拟或测量案例分析。最后,我们会根据各种客户特定的标准和指定的尺度对技术进行评估,以确定其对预定的技术方案的影响。这些标准包括燃料消耗、排放、性能、重量和成本等因素。然后将这些标准扩展到根据客户的需求定制的标准--例如,排气系统参数或某些系统部件的重要制约因素--以提供给客户最大的利益。

为了创建我们的技术路线图,我们会举办专家研讨会,讨论技术的成熟度和可能的市场化方案。这些研讨会针对不同的应用凌云(汽油或柴油乘用车、商用车、农用和建筑设备等)和不同地区(欧洲、美国、中国、日本、印度等)进行讨论,从而详细了解哪些技术将在哪种应用、在哪种地区、在哪段时期内、在哪种市场渗透率达到哪种水平。

新的产品机会要得益于技术规划和深度解析

在过去的几年里,许多客户利用技术路线图来确定和评估新产品的机会。FEV顾问会选择客户感兴趣的技术,因为这些技术与客户在产品和/或生产技术领域的核心竞争力相吻合,或者是符合客户的战略方向。他们通常在创新过程中进行早期技术考察后进行选择。

为了确定这些技术是否能够为客户的现有组合提供合理的补充,我们会对其进行另一个更详细的评估过程。在这一过程中,FEV将确定市场和产业结构分析,如市场容量和增长潜力,研究竞争的激烈程度,并研究专利。通过这些分析结果,我们的专家们可以估算出一项技术是否能够盈利。

同时,他们会对技术进行检查,看看它的功能如何,一般来说,这也是密集的技术深入研究的一部分。这种检查会详细解释该技术如何运作,有哪些优势和劣势,如何影响其他技术和概念,有哪些主要的竞争对手,以及该技术在全球市场上有哪些潜力。在与客户举行的研讨会上,我们的顾问会在早期就指定并记录可能的产品创意和改进方案。他们还将客户已经拥有的技能与所需的技能进行校准,从而发现任何差距。

之后,如果一项技术仍具潜力,FEV将设计出实施该技术的方案。然而,首先,客户必须决定在内部进行何种程度的生产,以及希望从外部供应商处采购哪些部件。客户还需要决定是想成为将技术推向市场的先锋,还是想成为快速追随者或只是简单效仿行业对手。根据这一估计,顾问们将确定在研发、生产和采购以及销售方面要做什么和什么时候做,以达到预期的生产开始日期。

在最后一步,高级管理层可以利用这些信息来决定如何在内部为技术开发提供资金。

客户如何从中获益?

全世界的OEM和供应商们以各种方式使用FEV技术路线图的结论。FEV使客户能够从技术发展的成熟度、市场相关性以及对其他技术概念的影响等方面对技术发展进行评估。例如,客户可以推算出未来的研发预算,开发新的产品创意,适当地调整营销策略,甚至开发新的业务领域。这些结论结合了FEV近40年的知识积累,是FEV技术路线图的独特卖点,凸显了FEV技术路线图的高品质。

每年的技术路线图项目数量

2011年以来我们做到了什么?

自2011年成立以来,FEV技术路线图方法在内容和功能上不断改进和完善。虽然FEV在2011年开始时只有不到80项技术和一个应用领域,但现在我们的数据库已经包含了450多项技术和大量的应用领域和市场。在过去的5年里,我们的专家已经成功地为全球许多不同的客户提供了咨询。到目前为止,我们的技术已经不再仅仅局限于发动机本身,还包括变速器、替代燃料、各种电气化概念、电池和燃料电池技术以及整体车辆(例如轻量化设计)等方面的技术。应用的领域也越来越多。FEV从农业设备开始,但现在我们的产品包括乘用车(汽油和柴油)、商用车、各种移动机械、机车、船舶应用、发电机以及航空和风电行业的项目。

Technology Roadmapping

FEV TECHNOLOGY

ROADMAPPING

In order to approach an innovation process within a company in a structured manner from the start, FEV Technology Roadmapping creates a roadmap that answers three important questions: what are the market and technology drivers? What are the technological solutions? When do they reach critical market penetration? This approach enables us to avoid the „fuzzy front-end“ - meaning those often difficult-to-define initial phases with which every innovation process starts. The roadmapping process can be flexibly adjusted to meet the client‘s requirements. However, it still includes the central aspects, from trend and driver analysis to sensible technology scenarios for future motors, transmissions, and powertrains for all transport-relevant applications. FEV Consulting shows the client which product and corporate strategies are relevant for it and helps to implement them.

What is FEV Technology Roadmapping?

The approach used in FEV Technology Roadmapping helps us to structure the fuzzy front end, that is, the early phase of technology scouting in an innovation process. In this phase, we encounter many technologies that are either nested in the early stages of research, are starting the initial steps in design, or are already moving on to advanced prototyping. Uncovering these trends, describing them, and assessing them are key elements in early technology scouting. Though it proves challenging to OEMs and suppliers, it is extremely important to the strategic decision-making of both.

FEV‘s Technology Roadmapping process is an efficient solution for documenting technologies - whether in the early stage of development or already established. FEV consultants usually try to answer three crucial questions:

  • What current and future trends and drivers will influence the research and development of relevant products?
  • What relevant technologies or concepts are known, and what impact do they have?
  • When will the technologies reach both maturity and relevant market penetration?

When reporting on trends and drivers, we analyze global mega-trends as well as the ensuing specific drivers. Our experts tap into their worldwide network, attending relevant lectures and trade fairs, conducting interviews among key industry players, suppliers, and end customers, or analyzing legislation that may become important in the next 20 years.

When working on projects, we focus on the client‘s specific constraints and requirements. While considering a client‘s individual product environment, the client‘s core competencies and, if necessary, specially-requested technology topics, the service line identifies technologies - whether already in series development or just now in an early stage of research - that are of special interest to the client. They are generally identified through interviews conducted with selected FEV experts, analysis of lectures and literature, and attendance at conferences and trade fairs. We then draw up a standardized report on the technologies for the client. The report describes the operating principle; explains the advantages, disadvantages, and interactions with other technologies; and assesses the potential for use in a variety of applications, including passenger vehicles, commercial vehicles, industrial, marine and railroad applications. As our most unique selling point, FEV Consulting offers its clients what we call „technology deep dives,“ in which the experts from FEV elaborate on selected topics with in-depth technical details and numerous case studies taken from simulations or measurements. Finally, the technologies are evaluated based on a variety of client-specific criteria and designated scales to determine their influence on predefined technology packages. The criteria include factors such as fuel consumption, emissions, performance, weight, and cost. The criteria are then expanded to include criteria tailored to the client‘s needs - for example, exhaust system parameters or important constraints for certain system components - in order to offer clients the greatest possible benefit.

To create our technology roadmaps, we hold expert workshops to discuss both the maturity of the technology and possible market penetration scenarios. They are performed on different applications (gasoline or diesel passenger vehicles, commercial vehicles, farming and construction equipment, etc.) and for different regions (Europe, US, China, Japan, India, etc.), so that we get a detailed overview of which technologies will become established for which application, in which region, during which period of time, and with which level of market penetration.

Process Technology Roadmapping

New Product Opportunities Thanks to Roadmapping and Deep Dives

Over the past few years, numerous clients have used Technology Roadmapping to identify and evaluate new product opportunities. The FEV consultants select technologies that could be of interest to the client, either because they fit in with client core competencies in the area of products and/or production technology or they match the client‘s strategic orientation. They usually make their selection following early technology scouting during the innovation process.

 To decide whether the technologies will actually be a reasonable addition to the client‘s current portfolio, we subject them to another, more detailed process of evaluation. Known as Phase 2, it involves a market and industry structural analysis, in which FEV determines factors such as market volume and growth potential, examines the intensity of competition, and researches patents. With the aid of the findings, our experts can estimate whether a technology will be profitable.

 At the same time, they check the technology to see how functional it will be, generally as part of an intensive technology deep dive. This examination explains in detail how the technology operates, what advantages and disadvantages exist, how it affects other technologies and concepts, what main competitors exist, and what potential there is for distinguishing the technology on the global market. In workshops held with the client, our consultants specify and document possible product ideas and improvements early on. They also calibrate skills required with those that the client already has, thereby revealing any gaps.

 Afterwards, if a technology still shows promise, FEV will devise a scenario for implementing it. First, however, the client must decide what level of production to carry out internally and which parts it wishes to source from outside suppliers. The client also needs to decide whether it wants to be a pioneer in bringing the technology to market or if it would rather be a fast follower or a „me-too.“ Based on this estimate, the consultants then define what to do and when - with respect to research and development, production and procurement, as well as sales - in order to meet a desired start date for production.

 In the final step, senior management can use this information to decide how to fund the development of the technology internally.

How do clients benefit?

OEMs and suppliers worldwide use the results of the FEV Technology Roadmapping process in a variety of ways. FEV enables clients to assess technological developments in terms of their maturity, market relevance, and impact on other technology concepts. For example, clients can deduce their future R&D budgets, develop new product ideas, appropriately target their marketing strategies, or even tap into new areas of business. The results combine the knowledge from nearly 40 years of FEV history - a unique selling point that underscores the high quality of FEV‘s Technology Roadmapping.

What have we done since 2011?

Since our beginnings in 2011, the FEV Technology Roadmapping approach has been consistently improved and refined, both in terms of content and functionality. Though FEV started with just under 80 technologies and one application in 2011, we now work with a database currently containing over 450 technologies and a large number of applications and markets. In the last five years, our experts have successfully advised many different clients around the world. The technologies are by far no longer devoted to just the engine itself; they also encompass technologies in transmissions, alternative fuels, various concepts for electrification, batteries and fuel cell technologies, and the overall vehicle (lightweight design, for instance). The number of applications has also grown. FEV started with agricultural equipment, but we now work with passenger cars (gasoline and diesel), commercial vehicles, a wide range of mobile machinery, locomotives, marine applications, generators, and projects in the aviation and wind power industries.

Andreas Wiartalla

Dr. Ing.

Andreas Wiartalla

Principal

Phone    +49 241  56 89 - 495
Mobile    +49 160  746 36 57
wiartalla@fev.com

Johannes Houben

Dipl.-Wirt.-Ing.

Johannes Houben

Manager
Phone +49 241  56 89 - 99 70
Mobile +49 151  16 76 58 91
houben_j@fev.com

Online Magazine

TECHNOLOGY ROADMAPPING: HOW THE EXPERTS FROM FEV CONSULTING FIND THE PERFECT TECHNOLOGY FOR THEIR CUSTOMERS